6 replies to this topic

#1 hobbner

hobbner

Wet Behind The Ears

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 April 2022 - 01:04 PM

I'm new to the site and couldn't find a place to post this, so I'll post here. I bought some DBZ Keshi figures and I wanted to openly display them on my desk. My brother told me that it isn't good to do so because the rubber degrades. I'm new to these and never owned any before. Is it safe to display them on a desk? Are they safe in plastic or plastic bags? Will they get messed up or melt? How should I clean these? I used disinfectant wipes. Are those okay? These questions may sound silly but my OCD is acting up because I paid pretty good money for these and they are rare, and I don't want them to get messed up. So if anyone could give me any tips and advice on maintaining my keshi figures, how to properly clean them and display them without them getting messed up. I greatly appreciate it.

#2 BadLarry

BadLarry

Jake All Day

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Interests:Robot & monster toys, Lego, MUSCLE, etc.

Posted 11 April 2022 - 03:44 PM

Soft keshi will bond with certain materials if left in contact, so be careful about storing them with other plastic figures, or displaying them on plastic/artificial surfaces.

For example, kinkeshi are known to fuse with/stain MUSCLE if stored in the same container. I had some Transformers keshi displayed in an Ikea display that had particle board shelves. They kind of melted into the shelves and left sticky stains. Once I discovered that, I moved them to a wooden shelf and have not had any further problems.

I am not an industrial chemist, but I would not store keshi in anything plastic. I am unsure how they do on glass or metal surfaces. My guess would be that those options were OK, but I have no direct experience. Hopefully others can offer their knowledge.

Thank you

#3 Czarcher

Czarcher

Ruling Lands Far And Wide

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2309 posts