22 replies to this topic

#1 Aikola

Aikola

Main Offender

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1564 posts

Posted 16 August 2010 - 04:54 PM

Well I am not very good at writing reviews but wanted to give this toyline a go.

I saw Dragons Universe in my local supermarket about a month or so ago and it caught my eye, not enough to make me want to buy it there and then but enough to make me look at it every time I walk past, but why did it not grab me first time? well the main reason was because it was made by Mega Bloks and ive always thought of Mega Bloks as being a cheaper/crapier version of Lego.

I finally caved in and bought my first Dragon with the weekly shopping, they come in different styles; small dragons and eggs, small pods and vehicles, larger dragons and eggs and finally huge space ships, My first purchase was a small vehicle.
Attached File  dragonseagle.jpg   104.9K   44 downloads Attached File  dragons3.jpg   108.57K   41 downloads

I got it home and made it up, it only took me about 5 minutes because it only had 32 pieces but it looked quite good and the plastic is of slightly better quality than I remember (however still doesnt seem as strong as Lego) Lets just say that it wasnt long before I was back down that aisle choosing what figure to buy next which was a Dragon in the end, I was quite impressed with his articulation all four legs and his head are on ball joints and move around quite freely however his weapon only moved side to side but overall a good figure.
Attached File  dragons2.jpg   105.68K   38 downloads

My most recent purchase however I was less happy with, I decided to go for one of the larger Dragon eggs and upon getting it home I ripped it out of its package and to my disappointment it didnt have alot more buildability to it with only about 30 pieces and what made it even worse was the larger dragons dont have ball joints in the legs so the only pose is a standing one.
Attached File  dragonsblackheart.jpg   106.41K   35 downloads