#1 Calavera

Calavera

Wet Behind The Ears

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 July 2022 - 10:09 PM

Hi, gang!

Sorry if this isn’t the appropriate place for this post, but I figured many of you are experienced in this area, and I’m in serious need of advice. So today I purchased a couple of high-end beasts from a private seller, and I didn’t take into account that I will have to pay import tax/customs duties, etc. To be honest, I’m not new to buying toys, but 100% of my buying has been done on eBay or in person. This is my first time buying from a private seller where I’m responsible for my own customs duties.

My questions are:

1)Do I have to pay customs duties/taxes for toys shipped from Netherlands?
2)If I am responsible for additional import fees, which ones?
3)How, when, and where do I pay for these fees? I’ve found some information on Cbp.gov (pay.gov), but am not sure where to find the proper forms.
4) Is it true that import duties/taxes are roughly 5% of the value of the items being imported?

My background is:

1) Receiving package of laser beasts (two shield battlers) from Netherlands
2)I live in the United States of America (California)
3)Package value is roughly $800

Thank you all so much for the help! I should have done my research earlier! :)

Edited by Calavera, 30 July 2022 - 10:12 PM.

#2 108KickBack

108KickBack

Beast-Former Gatherer

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 635 posts
  • Interests:Laser Beasts, Battle Beasts,Anything Beastformer, Insects,Bugs and arachnids.

Posted 31 July 2022 - 05:35 AM

It dont matter where it comes from in my experience.The value of the package determines if you pay or not.(sometimes you get lucky and it bypasses custom fees even with high amount)But assuming you bought from beastformers?! Is probally DHL? And they charge everything they can.I hate DHL.