Jump to content

Theme© by Fisana
 

Photo
- - - - -

MTG Rules and Questions


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#51 Toxoviper

Toxoviper

    Toy Addict

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1269 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 14 March 2013 - 01:07 PM

I just got back into MtG. Its something that my wife and I are enjoying together but ive been out of the loop for a while. When i was originally in it was between 4th Ed and Mirage. I am now learning all about the new abilities and what-not and doing ok with it but there are 2 things that i just cant wrap my head around

cipher. I cant figure it out. Is it like an enchantment that is permanently on the creature, but you need to tap it to use it and it cant be disenchanted?

planeswalkers. i understand that each turn you can put a token on them and then use the abilities for however many tokens but im not really sure how to use them as they are... do you just throw them down and your opponent just treats them like another opponent?

Sorry about rezzing an old thread but i figured this would be the best place for these questions


As far a I know you do not tap any enchantments under normal conditions.

You remove the planeswalker tokens to use ability.
Treat them like a enchantment with a life total you have to use to activate and the opponent can choose to attack it. You cannot choose to block with it.
  • 0





#52 Aikola

Aikola

    Main Offender

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Coast, UK

Posted 23 March 2013 - 05:23 PM

I just got back into MtG. Its something that my wife and I are enjoying together but ive been out of the loop for a while. When i was originally in it was between 4th Ed and Mirage. I am now learning all about the new abilities and what-not and doing ok with it but there are 2 things that i just cant wrap my head around

cipher. I cant figure it out. Is it like an enchantment that is permanently on the creature, but you need to tap it to use it and it cant be disenchanted?

planeswalkers. i understand that each turn you can put a token on them and then use the abilities for however many tokens but im not really sure how to use them as they are... do you just throw them down and your opponent just treats them like another opponent?

Sorry about rezzing an old thread but i figured this would be the best place for these questions


Cipher spells are encoded onto the creature and when it deals combat damage to a player you may cast a copy of that spell without paying for it.

Also if you didn't know, when you play a spell you can only use Extort once from each permanent you control with Extort, alot of people seem to think you can pay the cost more than once.

Planeswalkers have loyalty counters and each turn you can use 1 ability to either add or subtract counters to give a desired effect, other players may attack the planeswalker during the combat phase ( you may block with your creatures as you would if a player attacked you) or redirect damage from spells towards them to reduce the counters.

Edited by Aikola, 23 March 2013 - 05:36 PM.

  • 0
Aikola: Collecting figures that no-one else cares about since 2007.
"Punk Rock: A loud, fast and deliberately offensive style of rock music"

My Trade List
My Little Army
Aikola's Mini Boglin Colour Archive

#53 TheOrgg

TheOrgg

    亢李 傻 操

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4941 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 March 2013 - 03:27 PM

Cypher-- Yes, but not just tap it. You must attack and have the creature deal damage to the defending player during the combat damage step.

That's pretty much how it works. The can attack either a player or a planeswalker with each creature that attacks.
  • 0
Our glorious Milky Way is a tiny, infinitesimal speck of sand in this vast, incomprehensible universe. And somewhere in that Milky Way is our own solar system, less than one billionth of that speck of sand that is the Milky Way. And then there is our planet Earth, one hundred trillionth of that one billionth of that one speck of sand. And on this planet Earth there is DEV-0, an insignificant blemish with a lifespan too short to measure when placed in infinite time.

And you are here, with them, as so many specks of sand.

#54 Coelocanth

Coelocanth

    mega mega white thing

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 506 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PDX
  • Interests:Battle Beasts

Posted 15 March 2014 - 05:20 PM

This may be off-topic (though it is technically an MTG question), but if anyone is really MTG and wants to trade LBs or BBs for high-end MTG (or even low-end - I'm offloading my collection), I'm interested. I've got minty Revised Duals, EDH foils, Sliver Queens, etc. Send me a PM!


Edited by Coelocanth, 15 March 2014 - 05:27 PM.

  • 0

635270639464638746.gif

   Portfolio   •   Prints







Copyright © 2018 LittleRubberGuys.com