51 replies to this topic

#1 redjarojam

redjarojam

Taco Beast

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 917 posts

Posted 31 July 2011 - 06:02 AM

Not really fan art for this first post but it is art I created.

Here is my graduation show for my BFA I did in fall 2008, I took a break from art once I graduated and am currently building new canvases to dive back in head first(made a few 3ftx5ft canvases, that's serious business). Hope you guys like these and look forward to showing off my new stuff.

There are a lot I left them pretty big so you can see the detail, even big there is a lot lost from the originals. If anyone would like detail shots just say so and I shall wrangle some up online.

This one is older than the BFA Graduation show. After making this one and getting such a great response in class and from students and professors not in the painting program i decided to pursue these creatures further, they started as just doodles in high school.

Titled "Hunt" used a lot of art history themes and composition ideas. at the time i was using feathers on the head as age/societal rank with the small guy in the front just having earned his first feather of "manhood age" and going on his first hunt.
Posted Image

graduating group show images
Overview of show set up.
Posted Image
This is one of the figures I cast in resin. I broke it up, "aged" it with tea and paint tore open Polaroids I had taken of some woods caves fields etc. Then I scraped various parts of the Polaroids away and painted in various states of fictional archeological digs/surveys. Making it as if this crude figure of one of my creatures was found in a dig site. The heart and brain inside the stomach refer to the motif in the two bigger paintings on the wall behind it.
Posted Image