- - - - -

Web Design Questions

• Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_General Veers_*

Guest_General Veers_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 November 2008 - 07:46 AM

I thought about posting my question in this thread, but I feel like even more questions will be coming so a new thread made sense.

I am a web design novice, and that is a pretty generous statement. I am using a website called HostMySite. I do not want to use their template stuff, but how do I upload something?

I know I have to learn the C++ (or whatever you guys recommended), but once I write it up how do I upload it?

And is there a ways to test it before uploading?

I know I need to buy a basic book, but I was just thinking about it today and thought you guys would probably have the answers.

Thank you in advance!

#2 Soupie

Soupie

@minifiguresXD

• Legends
  • 7881 posts
  • Interests:Not Telling

Posted 07 November 2008 - 08:03 AM

Once you write the html in notebook (or whichever text editing program you use) you save the document as an .html file. Save the file into a folder in your computer. You can open that file with your Internet browser by going up to File > Open File. That way, you can preview it and make any changes you need. (I recommend opening and viewing the file with a few different browsers to see how each browser renders it. It can be maddening how each browser sometimes renders a Web page differently.)

Once you are happy with the html code and your .html file, you need to upload it to your Web page host's server. In your case, you'll need to upload the file to your personal folder/server on HostMySite. In the future, when you create more pages (html files) for your site, you'll upload them as well.